Saint-Petersburg State University of Civil Aviation

St. Petersburg (Russia)

Federal State Budgetary Educational Institution of Higher Education "St. Petersburg State University of Civil Aviation", being the successor of the Higher Aviation School of Civil Air Fleet (VAU GVF), created in 1955 by a decree of the Government of the USSR, the Higher Aviation School of Civil Aviation (VAU GA) and the Order of Lenin  The Civil Aviation Academy (OLA GA) is a leading educational institution in the industry, one of two educational organizations that train civil aviation pilots under higher education programs.  The structure of the University includes five branches, geographically covering the entire territory of Russia: Khabarovsk, Yakutsk, Krasnoyarsk, Buguruslan, Vyborg.

Currently, over 10 thousand students and cadets study at the University, including more than 7,500 students in 13 basic educational programs of higher professional education, over 400 students from neighboring countries and beyond, and 2,600 students and cadets in secondary vocational education programs. 

In the system of additional professional education, up to 3,500 people undergo advanced training and refreshment training annually.  The developed educational programs and modern infrastructure allow for continuous training of high-class specialists for the Russian aviation industry, which makes the University unique in terms of industry specificity. To provide flight training, the University has a large fleet of expensive training aircraft (Cessna and Diamond) having 122 units, as well as complex and specialized simulators of the latest generation (Antonov-148, Boeing 737-800, Airbus 320, CRJ 200).

During the period of its activity, the University has trained more than 30 thousand managers and highly qualified specialists for civil aviation. Over the years, the graduates of the Higher Aviation School - Academy of Civil Aviation - University of Civil Aviation were: the Ministers of Civil Aviation of the USSR: B.P. Bugaev and B.E.  Panyukov;  Deputy Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation V.M. Okulov;  11 first deputies and deputy ministers of civil aviation of the USSR A.I.  Nazarov, A.A.  Popov, K.K.  Gulakov, V.A.  Kolosov, I.F.  Vasin, N.P.  Bykov, Yu.A.  Yurkin, L.V.  Ilchuk, A.M.  Goryashko, A.I.  Semenkov, B.D.  Rude;  four heads of federal bodies of the Civil Aviation (DVT of the Ministry of Transport of Russia, FAS, FSVT): A.A.  Larin, G.N.  Zaitsev, V.V.  Zamotan, K.K.  Rupel;  President of the Republic of Lithuania in 2003-2004  Rolandas Paksas;  21 chiefs of the main directorates and directorates of the central apparatus of the USSR Ministry of State Administration, various federal bodies of state power in the field of air transport;  52 heads of territorial (district, regional, interregional) departments of the Civil Aviation, as well as educational institutions of the Civil Aviation.

About 5 thousand graduates became heads of aviation enterprises, airlines and airports, over a thousand became heads of divisions and services of air traffic control. Thousands of graduates were awarded government awards and badges, more than 200 were awarded the honorary titles "Honored Pilot", "Honored Navigator", "Honored Transport Worker", 29 graduates were awarded the high title of Hero of the Soviet Union, Hero of Socialist Labor, Hero of Russia.


Our experts and teachers